Home / Lenders / RBC Mortgage Rates Published On October 29, 2026

RBC Mortgage Rates Published On October 29, 2026

RBC mortgage rates on October 29, 2026 start at a 4.99% three-year fixed special (4.84% insured five-year), a 5.14% five-year fixed special, and a five-year variable special at prime minus 0.30, which is 4.40% now that RBC's prime moved from 4.45% to 4.70% effective October 29 after the Bank of Canada's October 28 hike to 2.50%. This page reports RBC's published rates, the gap between posted and special rates, and what borrowers say RBC actually offered them. This site is independent and not affiliated with RBC; the bank's name is used only to identify whose rates are shown.

RBC Mortgage Rates Published On October 29, 2026

RBC updated its rate page the day after the Bank of Canada raised the overnight target from 2.25% to 2.50%, and RBC's prime went from 4.45% to 4.70% effective October 29. The specials below apply to purchases and switches with an amortization of 25 years or less, and the high-ratio special applies to insured mortgages.

TermSpecial ratePosted rateGap
1-year fixed5.14%5.74%0.60 points
2-year fixed5.14%5.74%0.60 points
3-year fixed4.99%6.25%1.26 points
4-year fixed5.04%6.09%1.05 points
5-year fixed5.14%6.19%1.05 points
7-year fixed5.25%6.50%1.25 points
10-year fixednot published as a special6.90%
5-year fixed, high-ratio (insured)4.84%

RBC also ran a limited-time offer of cash or points worth up to $5,900 on qualifying mortgages, ending October 31, 2026, with conditions attached. Treat everything here as published rates, not as a quote for your file. If you want to know where RBC's 4.84% insured special or 4.99% three-year fits against other lenders, you can request cheaper rates and ask a licensed mortgage broker to price your file against both RBC specials and monoline lenders on the same day.

5-Year Fixed: Advertised Specials Against the Posted Rate
Lowest advertised, insured4.49%
BMO special4.84%
CIBC special4.84%
RBC special4.89%
Scotiabank special4.90%
TD special5.39%
Posted conventional 5-year6.19%

Advertised around October 28, 2026: big-bank specials from canadianrates.ca, the lowest insured 5-year from rate aggregators, the posted conventional 5-year from the Bank of Canada. Advertised rates are not quotes; insured files usually price lowest.

RBC Posted Rates Against Its Specials

The posted column is what appears in RBC's official rate table; the special column is closer to what a well-priced file gets. The two five-year numbers, 6.19% posted and 5.14% special, are separated by 1.05 points. That gap matters twice. First, it tells you the advertised special is not a floor: borrowers regularly report beating it, as the board rows below show. Second, it matters for penalties, which the last section covers.

For scale, here is what the posted-versus-special gap does to a payment on a $500,000 mortgage over 25 years, using the site's payment formula with Canadian semi-annual compounding.

ScenarioRateMonthly payment
RBC 5-year special5.14%$2,948.00
RBC 5-year posted6.19%$3,255.72
RBC insured 5-year special4.84%$2,862.65
Board row: RBC 3-year fixed offered4.44%$2,750.71

The difference between paying the posted rate and the special on that loan is $307.72 a month, or about $3,692.64 a year. Nobody should sign at posted, and nobody should assume the special is the best RBC will do.

RBC Variable Rates At 4.70% Prime

RBC's published variable structure on October 29 is simple: the standard five-year variable special is prime minus 0.30, or 4.40% at the new 4.70% prime. The high-ratio variable special is prime minus 0.60, or 4.10%. The posted variable rate is prime itself, 4.70%. But the rates borrowers reported signing with RBC ran deeper than those published discounts, as the board rows below show: 3.55% on an October 27 purchase quote and 3.75% on an October 23 renewal, both quoted at the old 4.45% prime, and 3.74% on an October 14 investment-property offer.

Two cautions. One: prime just moved, so any variable quote you saw before October 29 was priced off the old 4.45% prime and has already drifted up by 0.25 points if the discount held. Two: the discounts here are much shallower than what the broker channel reports. The board carried a broker variable quote at prime minus 1.10 (3.35% against the old prime) on October 28, and aggregator-advertised five-year variables around October 28 ran as low as about 3.41% insured, quoted at the old prime. For more on how discounts behave when prime moves, see variable mortgage rates in Canada right now and the piece on what prime at 4.70% does to a variable payment.

Big-Bank Prime Rate, December 2021 to October 2026
2%3%4%5%6%7%7.20% peak4.70% now20222023202420252026
2%3%4%5%6%7%7.20% peak4.70% now202220242026

Source: Bank of Canada series V80691311 (chartered-bank prime), and the RBC, TD, BMO, Scotiabank and CIBC announcements of October 28, 2026. Variable mortgages and HELOCs follow this line.

What Borrowers Say RBC Offered

The rate board collects dated, linked reports from borrowers in r/MortgagesCanada. Every figure below is a report, not an offer, and most variable rows were quoted against the old 4.45% prime.

  • RBC 4.44% three-year fixed, described as just offered, October 28, 2026 (row)
  • RBC 3.55% five-year variable and 4.44% three-year fixed, quotes on a purchase with 25% down, October 27, 2026 (row)
  • RBC renewal at 4.40% three-year fixed and 3.75% five-year variable, October 23, 2026 (row)
  • RBC 3.74% five-year variable on an investment property, October 14, 2026, quoted at the old prime (row)

Read those against the published specials. The 4.44% three-year fixed is 0.55 points below RBC's 4.99% special on the same term. The 3.55% variable quote from October 27 was prime minus 0.90 at the old prime, far deeper than the published prime minus 0.30, though it becomes 3.80% once prime is 4.70% if the discount holds. Every live RBC row from the board, with dates and links, appears next.

RateTermHow it was describedInsurancePostedSource
4.44%3-year fixedjust offeredNot stated2026-10-28source
3.55%5-year variablequote on a purchase, 25% downUninsured2026-10-27source
4.44%3-year fixedquote on a purchase, 25% downUninsured2026-10-27source
4.40%3-year fixedrenewal offerNot stated2026-10-23source
3.75%5-year variablerenewal offerNot stated2026-10-23source
3.74%5-year variableoffered on an investment propertyNot stated2026-10-14source
4.74%5-year fixedposted offerNot stated2026-10-05source

If any row beats what your branch quoted, that is a concrete negotiating data point. The same file can also be priced through a broker versus a bank comparison, which often surfaces monoline options.

RBC Renewal Offers And How To Check One

An RBC mortgage renewal letter is an opening number, not a market price. The board shows why: on October 23, 2026, a borrower reported an RBC renewal offer of 4.40% on a three-year fixed, already below the 4.99% special. Other lenders' renewal rows in late October ran from 4.24% on a five-year fixed to 4.89% on a TD three-year. Renewal offers vary by file, and federally regulated lenders must send the renewal statement at least 21 days before the term ends, so the clock gives you room to shop. The renewal rates page covers the benchmark question, and the mortgage renewal calculator shows the payment effect of a counteroffer.

A quick checklist for any RBC renewal offer:

Ask whether the number is insured or uninsured pricing, since the gap is 0.30 points on RBC's own five-year specials (4.84% versus 5.14%). Compare against board rows dated within the last two weeks, not against posted rates. And remember that a straight uninsured switch at renewal to another federally regulated lender no longer requires re-qualifying at the stress-test rate, which makes leaving easier than it used to be. The stress test itself, the higher of the contract rate plus 2 points or 5.25%, still applies to new loans and refinances; the stress test guide covers the details.

Why The Posted Rate Matters If You Break

Canada's prepayment rules, per FCAC, are that a fixed-rate penalty is usually the greater of three months' interest or the interest rate differential, while a variable-rate penalty is usually three months' interest. Big banks often calculate the IRD using a posted-rate comparison: roughly the current posted rate for the remaining term minus the discount you got off posted when you signed. The wider the posted-versus-special gap at RBC, 1.05 points on the five-year as of today, the bigger that arithmetic can get. The contract and the lender's disclosure set the exact method, and many monoline lenders and credit unions use discounted-rate methods that tend to produce smaller penalties.

That is a reason to run the numbers before breaking any RBC fixed term, especially mid-term. The mortgage penalty calculator compares the three-months'-interest and IRD outcomes on your balance, and the refinance guide covers what a mid-term break involves.

One last move worth making: before you sign anything with RBC, request cheaper rates and ask the licensed mortgage broker to price the exact same term and amortization, including whether a switch at renewal carries any penalty or legal cost. The board's RBC rows suggest there is usually room between the renewal letter and the best available number.

Questions

Is RBC's 5-year special of 5.14% a good rate?

It is above the board's recent reports. Borrowers reported RBC offering 4.44% on a three-year fixed on October 28, 2026, and other lenders' five-year offers have run near 4.24%. See what is a good mortgage rate in Canada right now.

What is the RBC variable mortgage rate today?

On October 29, 2026, RBC's five-year variable special is prime minus 0.30, or 4.40%, with prime at 4.70%. The insured special is prime minus 0.60, or 4.10%, and borrowers have reported deeper discounts than the published specials.

Will my RBC variable payment go up after the October hike?

If your payment moves with prime, yes: prime rose from 4.45% to 4.70% effective October 29, 2026. Details are in what prime at 4.70% does to a variable payment.

Do I have to accept my RBC renewal offer?

No. The renewal statement arrives at least 21 days before term ends, and you can switch lenders at renewal. Since November 21, 2024, uninsured straight switches at federally regulated lenders do not require re-qualifying at the stress-test rate.

How is an RBC penalty calculated if I break a fixed term early?

Per FCAC, usually the greater of three months' interest or the IRD. Big banks often use a posted-rate IRD comparison, which tends to produce larger penalties than discounted-rate methods. The penalty calculator runs both.

A licensed mortgage broker can price your file at this bank and at other lenders, then you decide.

Request cheaper rates