Scotiabank Mortgage Rates
Scotiabank mortgage rates split into two very different numbers this week: the posted 5-year fixed rate is 6.19% effective October 29, 2026, while the advertised special sat near 4.90% in the October 28 snapshot. Borrowers on the board report Scotiabank actually offering 4.32% on a 3-year fixed and 3.40% on a 5-year variable on October 27. Prime moved from 4.45% to 4.70% effective October 29 after the Bank of Canada's October 28 hike, so variable math shifted overnight.
This page is an independent rate board. It is not affiliated with Scotiabank, is not a lender, and is not a broker. The name appears only to identify whose rates are shown, alongside borrower reports from r/MortgagesCanada and Bank of Canada data. A fuller picture of the market sits on the rate board.
Scotiabank Mortgage Rates Posted On October 29
Scotiabank's rates page carries the following posted closed fixed rates, effective October 29, 2026. These are posted rates, the sticker numbers, not what a negotiated mortgage normally closes at.
| Term | Posted closed fixed rate (Oct 29, 2026) | Monthly payment, $500,000, 25-year amortization |
|---|---|---|
| 1-year | 5.49% | $3,049.05 |
| 2-year | 5.24% | $2,976.71 |
| 3-year | 6.05% | $3,213.91 |
| 4-year | 6.09% | $3,225.83 |
| 5-year | 6.19% | $3,255.72 |
| 7-year | 6.40% | $3,318.87 |
| 10-year | 6.80% | $3,440.56 |
For contrast, the advertised 5-year fixed special at Scotiabank was about 4.90% in the October 28 aggregator snapshot. On a $500,000 mortgage with 25-year amortization, 6.19% costs $3,255.72 a month while 4.90% costs $2,879.63, a difference of $376.09 every month, or about $4,513 a year. That gap is the whole reason to never accept the posted rate. The scotiabank 5 year fixed that borrowers actually sign sits far below the 6.19% posted figure, as the board rows below show.
Advertised around October 28, 2026: big-bank specials from canadianrates.ca, the lowest insured 5-year from rate aggregators, the posted conventional 5-year from the Bank of Canada. Advertised rates are not quotes; insured files usually price lowest.
Why Scotiabank Rates Look So High
The honest answer to "why are scotiabank rates so high" is that the posted rates are not market rates. Posted rates serve internal purposes: they anchor IRD penalty calculations on fixed mortgages, and banks often compare your contract rate against the posted rate for the remaining term minus your original discount. The general FCAC rule is that a fixed-rate penalty is the greater of three months' interest or the interest rate differential, and big banks tend to use the posted-rate method, which produces larger penalties than the discounted-rate method many monolines and credit unions use.
The Bank of Canada's conventional 5-year posted rate sat at 6.19% in late October, up from 6.09% earlier in the month, and Scotiabank's posted 5-year matches that figure. Meanwhile banks raised advertised fixed rates by roughly 5 to 20 basis points across terms in October as the 5-year Government of Canada yield climbed from about 3.16% in late July to 3.57% on October 27.
The practical takeaway: never judge a bank by its posted table. Judge it by what it offers your specific file, and price that file elsewhere. One thing worth asking about directly is whether a competing 3-year fixed can beat the roughly 4.64% Scotiabank quoted a borrower with 25% down on October 27. That is a precise question a licensed mortgage broker can answer if you request cheaper rates.
What Borrowers Say Scotiabank Offered
The board has accumulated a long run of Scotiabank rows through October. Here is a selection with the rate, term, how it was described, and date, linked to the original thread. No usernames are shown.
| Date | Rate | Term | How it was described | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 23 | 4.50% | 3-year fixed | early renewal offer | board row |
| Oct 23 | 4.69% | 5-year fixed | early renewal offer | board row |
| Oct 23 | 3.65% | 5-year variable | early renewal offer | board row |
| Oct 26 | 4.60% | 3-year fixed | 120-day hold | board row |
| Oct 26 | 3.60% | 5-year variable | 120-day hold | board row |
| Oct 27 | 4.32% | 3-year fixed | approval ready | board row |
| Oct 27 | 3.40% | 5-year variable | approval ready | board row |
| Oct 27 | 4.64% | 3-year fixed | quote on a purchase, 25% down | board row |
Both the 4.32% approval and the 4.64% purchase quote on the same 3-year term landed on October 27, the same day, which shows how file-specific pricing is. Down payment size, insured status, and whether it is a switch or a purchase all move the number. The full live set of Scotiabank rows, updated as new reports land, follows.
| Rate | Term | How it was described | Insurance | Posted | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3.60% | 5-year variable | quote on a purchase, 25% down | Uninsured | 2026-10-27 | source |
| 4.64% | 3-year fixed | quote on a purchase, 25% down | Uninsured | 2026-10-27 | source |
| 4.32% | 3-year fixed | approval ready | Not stated | 2026-10-27 | source |
| 3.40% | 5-year variable | approval ready | Not stated | 2026-10-27 | source |
| 4.44% | 2-year fixed | broker quote | Not stated | 2026-10-27 | source |
| 4.60% | 3-year fixed | 120-day hold | Uninsured | 2026-10-26 | source |
| 3.60% | 5-year variable | 120-day hold | Uninsured | 2026-10-26 | source |
| 4.69% | 1-year fixed | early renewal offer | Not stated | 2026-10-23 | source |
| 4.39% | 2-year fixed | early renewal offer | Not stated | 2026-10-23 | source |
| 4.50% | 3-year fixed | early renewal offer | Not stated | 2026-10-23 | source |
| 4.65% | 4-year fixed | early renewal offer | Not stated | 2026-10-23 | source |
| 4.69% | 5-year fixed | early renewal offer | Not stated | 2026-10-23 | source |
| 4.48% | 3-year variable | early renewal offer | Not stated | 2026-10-23 | source |
| 3.65% | 5-year variable | early renewal offer | Not stated | 2026-10-23 | source |
| 4.56% | 1-year fixed | posted offer | Not stated | 2026-10-07 | source |
| 4.11% | 2-year fixed | posted offer | Not stated | 2026-10-07 | source |
| 4.27% | 3-year fixed | posted offer | Not stated | 2026-10-07 | source |
| 4.42% | 4-year fixed | posted offer | Not stated | 2026-10-07 | source |
| 4.46% | 5-year fixed | posted offer | Not stated | 2026-10-07 | source |
| 3.62% | 5-year variable | posted offer | Not stated | 2026-10-07 | source |
| 4.21% | 3-year fixed | posted offer | Not stated | 2026-10-03 | source |
Older October rows include 4.56% on a 1-year fixed, 4.11% on a 2-year, 4.27% on a 3-year, 4.42% on a 4-year and 4.46% on a 5-year fixed, all described as posted offers on October 7, plus 4.21% on a 3-year fixed on October 3. The trend through the month was gently upward on fixed terms, which matches the bond move described on why fixed rates rose before the hike.
One dot per borrower report in the current board (59 rows). Dots overlap where several people reported the same rate. Most variable rows were quoted at the old 4.45% prime.
Scotiabank Early Renewal Offers
One borrower reported receiving a full early renewal menu from Scotiabank mid-term. On October 23 that menu was described as an early renewal offer: 4.69% on a 1-year fixed, 4.39% on a 2-year, 4.50% on a 3-year, 4.65% on a 4-year, 4.69% on a 5-year, 4.48% on a 3-year variable and 3.65% on a 5-year variable.
Compare that menu against the rest of the board and the gaps are visible. A B2B rate sheet dated October 21 showed 4.34% on a 3-year fixed and 4.54% on a 5-year, while another borrower reported a 4.24% 5-year fixed renewal offer on October 21. Against Scotiabank's 4.50% 3-year early renewal, a broker-offered National Bank 3-year fixed at 4.59% looks close, but the 4.34% 3-year and the 4.24% 5-year rows sit below it. On a $400,000 mortgage over 25 years, the difference between the 4.50% 3-year ($2,213.89) and the 4.24% 5-year ($2,156.44) is $57.45 a month, though the terms differ.
Scotiabank mortgage renewal paperwork does not have to be signed as sent. Federally regulated lenders must deliver the renewal statement at least 21 days before the term ends, and many lenders allow a renewal or rate hold roughly 120 days early, though it varies. The timing questions are covered in when to shop a mortgage renewal, and the broader market context is on the renewal rates page.
Scotiabank Variable Rates After Prime Moved
Prime at Scotiabank rose from 4.45% to 4.70% effective October 29, matching the other big banks after the Bank of Canada lifted its overnight target to 2.50% on October 28. Prime now sits 2.20 points above the overnight target.
Every Scotiabank variable row quoted in October was quoted against the old 4.45% prime. The 3.40% 5-year variable approval reported on October 27 and the 3.60% 5-year variable hold reported on October 26 were prime minus discounts struck at 4.45%, so if the discounts hold, the contract rates shift up 0.25 points with prime. What a variable payment does at prime 4.70% is broken out in this walkthrough, and the current variable market is summarized on the variable rates page.
For scale: a $500,000 mortgage at 3.65% over 25 years costs $2,536.10 a month, while the same loan at 3.90%, roughly what 3.65% becomes if a 0.25-point prime move passes through and the discount holds, costs $2,603.07, or $66.97 a month more. At the stressed qualifying rate, the higher of the contract rate plus 2 points or 5.25%, the Scotiabank variable rows of 3.40% to 3.65% qualify at 5.40% to 5.65%, since contract plus 2 points sits above 5.25% across that range. How that test works is explained in the mortgage stress test guide.
Holding A Scotiabank Rate For 120 Days
Scotiabank rows on the board include two holds placed with a 120-day window: a 3-year fixed at 4.60% and a 5-year variable at 3.60%, both reported October 26 and both on uninsured files. A 120-day hold matches the longer end of the typical 90-to-120-day pre-approval range. Pre-approvals carry a stress-tested qualification, usually involve a hard credit inquiry, and are conditional rather than final approvals, since the property and documents are reviewed later. The mechanics are laid out in the pre-approval guide.
A hold is insurance against fixed rates rising, and October gave that insurance value: banks lifted advertised fixed rates by 5 to 20 basis points across terms during the month. But a hold only locks one lender's price. Before you sign anything, send the exact Scotiabank hold terms to a licensed mortgage broker and ask for a matched 3-year and 5-year quote, insured or uninsured as your file dictates, plus any switch costs. You can do that in a few minutes when you request cheaper rates; the broker prices your file against lenders that may sit below the 4.60% hold.
Whether locking a variable now makes sense after a hike is genuinely uncertain. BMO expects another 25 basis point hike in January 2027, Desjardins expects one more with data-dependent timing, and CIBC sees likely one more and nothing above 2.75%, according to reports after the October decision. Those are attributed views, not ours. The decision framework is in should you lock in your variable rate and fixed or variable after a rate hike.
Questions
Are Scotiabank posted rates what borrowers actually pay?
No. The posted 5-year fixed of 6.19% effective October 29, 2026 is a sticker rate. The advertised special was about 4.90% around October 28, and board rows show offers from 4.32% on a 3-year fixed to 3.40% on a 5-year variable.
Why do posted rates matter if nobody pays them?
Posted rates feed the IRD penalty calculation on fixed-rate mortgages. Big banks often compare your contract rate against the current posted rate for the remaining term minus your original discount, which tends to produce larger penalties than discounted-rate methods. See the penalty calculator.
Do Scotiabank variable rates rise automatically with prime?
Variable rates are priced as prime minus a discount, so when prime moved from 4.45% to 4.70% on October 29, 2026, contract rates moved with it if the discount held. Most October board rows were quoted at the old 4.45% prime.
How early can I renew with Scotiabank?
One October 23 board row shows a Scotiabank early renewal menu across terms from 1 to 5 years. Many lenders let you renew or hold a rate roughly 120 days early, though it varies by lender. Federally regulated lenders must send the renewal statement at least 21 days before term end.
Is the Scotiabank 4.69% five-year early renewal offer good?
It was above the best 5-year fixed rows on the board in late October, which included 4.54% on a B2B rate sheet and a 4.24% 5-year renewal offer from an unnamed lender. Context is in is 4.84% a good renewal offer.
A licensed mortgage broker can price your file at this bank and at other lenders, then you decide.
Request cheaper rates